What made me cry today

3 Dec

Lucky for you people who either ended up here because you google searched “redneck” or “speculum” or because you think I’m an excellent writer and the tales of my daily life are fascinating (Hi, Mom!), this isn’t one of my usual boring, about-me posts. I was listening to Dave Ramsey on the way home from work today and heard him talking about his Great Giving Challenge and Pass it On Project. The winners have posted a few videos and while watching them, I felt that old lump rising up in my throat. I have been blessed with a Christian family who is good at loving other people. One of the many wonderful things my mom does is volunteer at a free medical clinic in Purcell. My dad has a soft heart for people in crisis and likes to save damsels in distress or give rides to people broken down. My grandpa just took a little boy on his first hunt. My grandma has been adopted by about 50 non-relatives as their grandma. I could go on, but getting into my extended family would make this a really long post. My new family are kind and generous people, too. On Thanksgiving my future mom-in-law and nephew volunteered at the community dinner.

These are the things that make the world livable. If you have ever been the recipient of special, God-influenced blessings and love from other people, you know how good it feels. I remember when I was a kid being raised by a single, working mom. Money was always tight and she was working hard. One time, someone from our church anonymously gave her a $100 gift card to a local station. That made an enormous difference for her. I still don’t know who it was but even now it makes me so happy to know that someone showed my mom they cared and that she wasn’t alone in the world. There have been other times like that throughout my  life and it just makes me love people.

I wanted to remind everyone to thank those who bless them and The One who allows them to do so. Also, go watch these videos and just try not to be inspired. It truly is better to give than to receive. Now, all y’all go love on somebody!

2 Responses to “What made me cry today”

  1. Cathy December 3, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    Love ya lady!

Leave a Reply

