2010

31 Dec

Happy  New Year’s Eve, friends! Thanks for being  here.

Okay, so for those of you who haven’t been putting up with my blogging antics for years, here’s what I do:

  • Step one-Create a blog.
  • Step two-Write entries randomly when I feel like it on no particular subject.
  • Step three-Forget about it sometimes.
  • Step four- At the end of the year, write a blog list of twelve things I learned that year.
  • Step five-Cancel the blog at some point because “I’m just soooo busy, ya know?”

Notice Step four (if you didn’t, we have a problem because it is both bolded and italicized whilst specifically mentioning today)? Okay, so that’s what time it is. And, it’s easier than sorting through all the other crazy things I need to write about. Get ready because I have not previously in my head thought of any particularly meaningful nor witty things to put on the list. This is improv, people!

1.) Sometimes people really  can’t find jobs. They aren’t necessarily (though sometimes they are) just saying that because they’re too lazy to look.

2.) Don’t be proud or tell yourself you deserve anything just because you graduated from college. Life doesn’t care.

3.) Be nicer to the people who make your livestock feed. For one thing, they could easily wipe out your herd if they wanted. Also, they work really hard in the extreme heat and cold. Actually, be nice to anyone that works in those ridiculous temperatures for ridiculous pay.

4.) Sometimes you have to let people go. There’s nothing you can do to help someone who’s in denial and you shouldn’t get dragged down just because you feel bad for them because they have poor judgement. Sever contact if you need to, but you should probably still pray for them and your own attitude.

5.) If you have a porch, you should use it in the summer time. Invite your friends over to drink lemonade (or kool-aid if you feel crazy) and tell stories on it.

6.) If you have a dream job in your head since high school, it might really happen someday even if you didn’t ever think it would. And other people might help you make it happen so let them.

7.) Smokey gets on my nerves about 12 times a day but I would be a really big mess if anything happened to him.

8.) Do a written budget. Seriously, you need to. I am telling you this with everything I have in me. Now, if you don’t do it, you’re just being lazy.

9.) OSU may never beat OU in football again. I don’t think God wants us to.

10.) Even if you once thought you would never, no way-no how, ain’t gonna happen, no matter what, get married, someone might change your mind.

11.) Traditions are important but sometimes you just can’t get it done. It’s okay. The world won’t end if you don’t do what you always do on Thanksgiving. But you may feel a little sad.

12.) Life can be really, really sweet. I never knew that before this year.

6 Responses to “2010”

  1. Jenny December 31, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I completely agree with 6 & 11. They describe my year perfectly.

  2. Andie December 31, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Awesome! I am loving this blog post!!

  3. cathy December 31, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

    Thanks for taking the time, nice work. I’m gonna follow Jenny’s theme and agree with how things went in my world 2010! Agree with 2-4-5-12 and not in any particular order of importance! Thanks for the reminders. Love ya!

  4. Laurie January 3, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    3 – 5 – 9 – 10 – 12 are my favs. Especially 10 & 12. To “coin a phrase” from Cooper Shebester, regarding his new horse named Lucy, YOU ROCK! Happy New Year, I think 2011 is also gonna rock!! Luv Ya!

  5. Brooke January 6, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    I love this! You’re pretty amazing and hit home with most of those!

    • heatherok January 12, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      Thanks, Lady! I love keeping up with you and Dallyn over at your blog!

Leave a Reply

