Put it on the list

26 Jan

I have noticed a disturbing trend on Facebook (actually, I’ve noticed a lot of disturbing trends on Facebook) and I bet you have too. I’m not talking about grown women making kissy faces and taking pictures of themselves or the apparent inability of people to remember their 6th grade English lessons where they learned the difference between “your” and “you’re.” I’m talking about something much more sensitive. You’re going to think I’m mean (if you don’t already).

BUT, let me ask you this. How long would your prayer list be if you prayed for everything people asked you to pray for on Facebook? Um, 37 miles? Yeah, that’s how long mine would be. I’m all for praying. I’m the biggest pray freak there is. If anything is bothering me, I pray about it. If it’s really big, I ask other people to pray about it. I believe in the power of prayer. But there are a few people on FB that are just getting greedy about it. Oh, your cat’s going to the vet to get her toenails clipped? Better get all 893 friends to talk to God about it. Oh, you went to bed 30 minutes late last night? Let’s see if everyone can pray that you make it through the day. Oh, your 97-year-old  great aunt you met once (and whom you weren’t even that fond of anyway) has died after struggling with lung cancer for six years? Yes, you should ask all of us to pray that you have the strength to withstand this hardship. And we probably will because we will feel mean if we don’t.

I’m surrounded by drama queens.

What do you think? Am I being hateful here or should people use some discretion (and common sense) about these things? I mean, I have things to do! I have a meeting to attend, laundry to do and groceries to buy! Well, maybe you guys could just pray that I have enough time and energy to get it all done? Thanks!

3 Responses to “Put it on the list”

  1. Laurie January 27, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    I’m totally with you! That’s part of why I had to get off Facebook. Really bad grammar, and drama, drama, drama. It’s too hard for me not to make “smart” comments to people.

    • Heather @ CrawdadsInMySink January 27, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      Sometimes I think it would be really hilarious to just post the first comment that comes to mind when I read something. But then I probably wouldn’t have very many friends.

  2. Laurie January 31, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    But it would be really funny!

Leave a Reply

