This blog is having an identity crisis

3 Feb

Well, I guess I might as well get it over with. My first post about my kid. Oh, you hadn’t heard? Yep, I’m gonna pop one out in August. Here’s its first pic.

It looks just like me!!

We are pretty excited and for those of you who know about legislative session, yes, I did plan my pregnancy around it. It has been pointed out to me that now I will inevitably become a mommy blogger. Heaven help me. If this is, in fact, true, I hope I will only blog about gross/embarrassing/funny things. Because, really, I know that no one is going to care how perfect I think my kid is. So, this blog is a bit confused right now. I’m sure it will straighten itself out.

So, since this is my first baby and people may not yet realize who I am, I have some things to share and some warnings to issue. First of all, I’m planning a natural birth. I’ve always planned this and the more I read about it, the more I realize it’s what I want to do. The next person to tell me I’m crazy is going to get slapped. You loved your epidural and couldn’t have survived without it? Good for you. Glad it was available to you. It’s just not my style and I don’t want to see you make a face about it. Now, secondly, (and really, everyone should take this advice for every conversation they have with a pregnant person) nobody wants to hear your delivery room horror stories. Especially not pregnant people, okay? Okay. Thirdly, if you have encouraging stories, everyone wants to hear those. Especially pregnant people. Also, if any of my pals out there have any experience with Hypno-birthing or the Bradley Method, please feel free to share.

Alright! We’re gonna have a kid! Yes, this does mean no club specials or Keystone Light for like a really long time but people keep telling me it will be worth it.

In other news, we just bought a house so as soon as I’m not exhausted from working like a rented mule, I will take a picture and share with you some information about our double-wide dream. Here’s one thing: it came with a trampoline. Heck yes.

Leave a Reply

