Master of the outdoors

2 Apr

Well, in between stalking legislators (I don’t know if it really counts as “in between” if you are currently sitting outside an office waiting on someone to come out) I thought I’d take a moment to brag about my farming prowess (now there’re two words I bet you’ve never seen together before). Anyway, I went a bit nuts and planted a huge garden that I will never be able to keep up with and some other junk randomly in pots and the yard. Some of that junk included two blackberry bushes. I even got two different varieties in case one didn’t do well. My darling, handsome and strong husband dug the holes for me and we plopped those babies in the dirt. I may or may not have said a little prayer over them. I really like blackberry cobbler. Anyway, so I was out there loving on them yesterday and I noticed something strange. There was a bush nearby, which I did not plant, with the EXACT same flowers as my blackberries. Yep, you guessed it, I planted two little old blackberry bushes right in the midst of basically a blackberry forest. Which, I have to say, these low to the ground, long viney bushes look nothing like the huge beast of a bush I remember at my grandparents house when I was a kid. So, yeah. We should be able to have a cobbler. I’ll post a picture of our whole garden once I get the Bermuda grass out so you won’t judge me. Hahaha just kidding. I’m never going to get the grass out. Have a good Monday, everybody! And just remember, never plant blackberries where blackberries already are. There’s a lesson in there. Coulda spent the money on blueberries. Here’s a pic of my little plant with the native plants in the background.

20120402-104629.jpg

One Response to “Master of the outdoors”

  1. Porter Pond Farm April 2, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    That sounds like something I might do! Thanks for the chuckle!

Leave a Reply

