The First Anniversary Post

4 Jun

Good morning, Internetters!

I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend. I know I did. I got to see my little sister marry a great guy and I also had a spray tan. And my grandma gave me some homemade jelly. So, what more  could a girl want? I started to get choked up early on in my speech at the reception so I just quit in order not to be a blubbering idiot. However, I did have some more things I wanted to say, so maybe I will write them here one day soon.

Today’s entry, though, is solely for my soul mate. It’s our one year anniversary today and I can’t believe how wonderful it’s been.

In fact, ever since we became a couple, I have kind of been waiting for the other shoe to drop. I fully expect to grow a big wart on my nose or become the only survivor of a nuclear bomb any day now because just how long can I be this happy? I almost feel guilty about the perfectness of it all. Almost.

I prayed for Spencer at a time when I was very depressed and very lonely and lost. And I asked God to send me the one he made for me. Let me tell you, I should’ve prayed that prayer a LONG time ago. Like, when I was about 14.

Since this day a year ago, we’ve hit a few milestones. Spencer turned 30, we bought a house, he made the transition at work from inside to outside sales, and we made a little Spencer Jr. I couldn’t be more proud of the man I married. He tries hard at everything he does. He’s smarter than me (um, yeah, I also find this incredible, but it’s actually true) and he has the patience of a saint. He’s also really tall and who doesn’t like that? He’s a good listener and a loyal friend. He’s the one I can go to when I need some shelter from the world. I just love him so much.

Did I mention the Cowboys actually won the Bedlam football game?!

I know we’ve only been married a year, so it’s not like I can offer marital expertise but I can just write some stuff and you can take it for whatever you think it’s worth (this is still America, right?). First, don’t keep dating that guy whom you know you are just settling for. If he embarrasses you, or you think he’s dumb, you really don’t need him. He’s blocking the way for someone better. Next, if you are pretty sure you have identified the one God made for you, be patient but don’t give up. Also, if you are lucky enough to have landed your sweetie pie, be nice to him. It sounds simple, but apparently it isn’t always easy. Think of his needs before your own. Help him when he needs it but don’t boss him around or nag him. Be thankful.

Love you, Spence. I can’t wait for every other year, I hope there are a whole bunch of them.

One Response to “The First Anniversary Post”

  1. Andie Luttrell Hendricks June 4, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    So sweet! Happy Anniversary! 🙂

Leave a Reply

