Some stuff about being pregnant

11 Jun

1. Everyone wants to call you “Mama.” Including your own mama. Which is confusing.

2. Everyone who has never been pregnant is super paranoid about everything you do. I know this for sure because I was when my sister was prego. Seriously, I got into an argument with my friends the other day because I drank a Body By Vi shake for lunch instead of eating 8,000 calories. I mean, honestly, do I look like I am depriving my child of nourishment?! My butt is the size of a barn!

3. Some people who have been pregnant can’t wait to tell you every single thing that is a scientific fact about pregnancy and they know it is a scientific fact because it happened to them, not because it really is a scientific fact. Honestly, I think there are some people who are so desperate to share their knowledge that they probably seek out pregnant people just to annoy impress them. This one probably irritates me more than it should because maybe I am a know-it-all, too. But at least I try to hold it in and not unleash it on everyone else who doesn’t care anyway. I’ve been told to get used to this one because unsolicited and unwanted and nonsensical parenting advice is going to keep getting dispensed to me until I die.

4. People want you to not lift things. Things that are a lot smaller than you would think. Like a crock pot.  I think this is funny. I understand there are people who have conditions that restrict their physical abilities during pregnancy but just being pregnant doesn’t mean your arms and legs are broken. I got so much flak about this early on that I asked my doctor. His response was, “Are you trying to bench 300lbs?” My doc’s kind of a smart aleck. We get along.

5. People want you to not mow the lawn on a riding mower. Because…um, because…Well, I haven’t figured out why this is scary to people. I think Jack likes it. He goes to sleep. Maybe I should be worried that I will have to drive him around on the mower to get him to go to bed?

6. People think your baby is in great peril if they see you with a coke, tea or coffee. Granted, it is recommended that you limit caffeine, but really, I looked this up toward the end of my first trimester when I was LITERALLY DYING for a Dr. Pepper. I think most doctors advise you to keep it below 200mg per day. Guess how many mgs of caffeine are in a can of Dr. Pepper? 42. So, yeah. Get off me. My grandma laughed at me the other day when I told her I was just going to have one cup of coffee. “Why?! Do you not want him kicking you too much?”

7. You can still exercise. Unfortunately. But, you will probably get tired/out of breath quicker than usual and you need to use common sense. I made sure I was doing safe stuff after the first trimester (when you can still do basically everything) by just buying a pregnancy workout DVD.

8. Not everyone gets morning sickness. And I don’t know how many dads told me that I must be having a girl if I wasn’t getting sick, but it was a lot. Poor dads. Some of them want to be pregnancy know-it-alls too but it’s hard for us to take you seriously when you haven’t carried a kiddo.

9. Having low blood pressure is probably safer than having high blood pressure, so I don’t complain but if you are one of these weirdos like me, you will be EXHAUSTED. Your blood pressure drops at a few times during pregnancy and if you have low blood pressure anyway, you will question whether your blood is actually moving or if it’s just sitting in there congealing. You will probably fall asleep at times you aren’t supposed to.

10. The worst part of my pregnancy so far has been gaining weight. And, who knows? It might all come off within a couple months. Or, it might not. We’ll have to wait and see on that one. But, with two months left to go until our due date, I thought I should let other ladies know that it might not be that hard for them. People love to scare you and tell you horror stories but other than being  more tired than usual and peeing a whole lot more, it hasn’t been difficult for me.

These are just a few observations I’ve made so far. I know I’m pretty lucky and some ladies have really tough pregnancies. But, I don’t think that’s the norm. And, I do think attitude/mindset is everything. I know the next two months might get ugly but I kind of doubt it. I actually hope the last week or two are a little rougher so I will be motivated to push this kid out. That’s another thing people worry a lot about-the delivery part. I’m not feeling any anxiety about it so far but once it’s all over I promise to give an HONEST portrayal of it for all my friends who are wondering.

Anybody else have some observations to share? They don’t even have to be about pregnancy. You could tell us a laundry trick or about that new Katy Perry song you like.

P.S. Biscuit and Gravy, the wonder kittens have been here about two weeks. I haven’t taken any pics yet because um, it’s hot, BUT they are dadgum cute and someday I might show them to you.

 

3 Responses to “Some stuff about being pregnant”

  1. Jennifer Roberts Meigs June 11, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    Enjoyed this! Yes…the unsolicited advice never stops….
    I do try to tell everyone who is pregnant how freakin’ easy deliverying Kiernan was, because it seems everyone wants to tell you how hellashish their experience was.

  2. Jennifer Roberts Meigs June 11, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    delivering*

Leave a Reply

