The new adventure

30 Aug

Guess who’s officially a stay-at-home mom now? This girl (er, lady? Can you still refer to yourself as a “girl” once you have a kid? I don’t know. I’m very new at all this.) That’s right. Life sure is crazy.

I’ve had a great, great, great job as a lobbyist the last two years. Best job ever. In the past, I always hoped I could be a stay-at-home mom but let’s be honest, that would be super-hard to afford. Life for three or more people plus a doggy and a kitty is pretty difficult to manage on one income. In fact, I questioned whether I would even want to have kids if I had to have them in full-time daycare. It just seems like it would be so hard to work full-time and keep a household and a marriage going. And I’m lazy.

But, as a lobbyist, I would be able to be home quite a bit for eight months out of the year while still making a living. So, I assumed this was God’s compromise for us. We planned my pregnancy around legislative session.  I got on a waiting list for the best daycare near the Capitol. I found a pediatrician near the Capitol. I had a PLAN. But, I forgot that my plans usually suck compared to God’s plans. Even though I was preparing everything for the way I thought it should be, I was still praying about the whole baby situation and that His will would be done in our family.

Well, guess what. Two weeks after I had Jack, I got fired. Well, demoted at least. My bosses decided that they just didn’t have enough work to justify paying me full-time (They were right, by the way. I totally understand their position. Although receiving this news while staving off serious baby blues wasn’t the coolest, but that’s my problem.). They did, however, think that they could justify paying me a little bit to do some part-time work from home. I had to think/pray/talk to Spencer about this. After weighing out all our options, this seemed like the best one.

So, now I’m a SAHM (what the peeps on the world wide web call it). This is going to be difficult because while I always wanted to be able to be with my kids, I kind of pictured doing it in a white Range Rover with a Dillard’s card in my wallet. Not that Spencer doesn’t have a good job. He has a great job. But we are not quite to Rockefeller status yet. This means we are going to have to make some serious cuts in the extras. This is what I’ve been cranky about. I spent 26 years of my life being broke. Several of those could go into the extremely broke category. So these last few years, when we’ve had a little breathing room, have been really nice. It’s just hard to face what feels like going backwards financially (Actually, I just realized I’m back to being fat and broke at the same time. ACK! But, that’s a different blog.). But, that’s the plan.

And I’ve got to have faith that it’s a better plan than anything I could’ve come up with.

4 Responses to “The new adventure”

  1. McKenzie August 30, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    It’s TOTALLY worth those sacrifices! It’s hard some days, but knowing your kid and getting to be with him all the time is worth cutting back on the extras. Groupon and stuff like that really helps when you do splurge a little. Welcome to the club!!!

    • Heather @ CrawdadsInMySink August 30, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      I know it will be worth it for sure! I just don’t handle change well. I take awhile to adjust. I’m just being a brat because I want to have my cake and eat it too! Lol

  2. Mom August 30, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I will bring you cake anytime. And I will let you eat it too! I might even help.

Leave a Reply

