Simmer down, now

9 Oct

Howdy, howdy, howdy! Heather, here. Again. And again. And again. Honestly this 31 days thing is making me a little sick of myself. I mean, I’m fully aware that there is probably not one single person in this whole wide universe who wants to read my thoughts 31 days in a row. I would be tickled if someone wanted to read them two days in a row. But, we made a commitment, people! At least I did. And I’m going to stick to it! But, really. Just know that I am not actually so vain to think that masses of people are going to be entertained or enlightened by this series.

But, guess what…I might be! I didn’t have a clear vision of what I wanted this “Getting it Together” month to be about when I started. But, through it, I am learning a thing or two. I’m really starting to gain some focus on things that I can do besides feed and clean the toddler.

I have a few ideas in my head, but I tend to be a starter so I’m going to let it simmer. By starter I mean that I get excited about starting projects and then not so much on the follow-through. I think it’s okay to get excited about starting projects but I’m going to make an intentional effort to filter and pick the valuable ones that are actually a good fit for my life.

Since I’ve always had a blog ever since I found out what a blog was, like, back in the days of MySpace, I think, I can feel pretty sure that I can stick to blogging. So, I’m going to do a little thinking and experimenting but I’m going to spend time each week focusing on the blog. And, I’m going to start thinking about my posts before I post them. Often, I’m not even sure what I wrote until after I hit “publish” and read over it. That’s going to change. I’m going to start paying attention to what I’m doing online.

ALSO, I’m going to Hope Spoken. I’m really excited about this because after hearing all the hype about Influence this year, I really wanted to plan on going next year. But, a year is just too far out for us to plan for right now.  But, then, I heard about Hope Spoken which is in March and it’s in Dallas rather than Indiana. So, it’s a winner. We really (really) can’t afford it but have I mentioned I have the most compassionate and understanding husband ever? He told me to buy a ticket before they sold out so I did. And I’m REALLY excited about it. Really. Really, really. It’s a conference designed for Christian women and if there are any of you thinking about coming, I would so love it if you do. So much.

Speaking of Influence, though, I joined their network and I’m thinking that was a good idea because they offer classes on a wide variety of topics. I had downloaded my first one awhile back and watched it last night and I found it very informative and helpful. This is the kind of thing I’ve been looking for to help me at least feel like (if not actually be) an enterprising individual.

So, today’s “Getting it Together” theme is focus. I’m all over the place right now but I’m not going to just reel it all in and get overwhelmed all at once. I’m going to try to make wise decisions that will help me grow and glorify God and I’m going to do that over the rest of this writing challenge.

Then. Oh, then. Then, I’m gonna start some stuff.

 

 

 

One Response to “Simmer down, now”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 31 days of getting it together | Crawdads in my Sink - October 11, 2013

    […] Day 10: Simmer down, now […]

Leave a Reply

