Oh, boy!

11 Oct

This boy is all boy. He is dirty and noisy and he likes anything with wheels. He is also crazy determined and independent. And not that cuddly. This boy is always moving and he never wants to snuggle or let me rock him. He’s got things to do! So, a lot of the times, I’m grabbing him as he goes by and squeezing him to me and trying to kiss him while he’s kicking his legs and shoving my face away. It’s a little insulting sometimes. I’m like a desperate girl with a crush on a boy who still thinks girls have cooties. Or like Elmyra (remember her?) with her pets. I just want to love him and hug him and squeeze him forever.

015So, when it was getting close to nap time and I sat him down on the couch to watch some cartoons and chill out for a minute, it just turned me to mush when he put his hand on my shoulder and held on. I felt like a giddy school girl the moment her crush takes her hand in his the first time. He likes me! He actually likes me!

When I feel weary and worn out, these little moments bring me such joy and inspiration. His sweet little hand can motivate and remind me why I want to get anything together in the first place.

6 Responses to “Oh, boy!”

  1. Nickie Brook October 11, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    Well written…and your little guys is adorable. I can’t resist the little snuggles either. When my little one is sleeping on me, I don’t want to put her in her crib, I just want to hold her close 🙂

    • Heather @ CrawdadsInMySink October 11, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

      Thanks so much! Get all the cuddles you want while ya can, I say!

      • Nickie Brook October 12, 2013 at 12:48 am #

        Yep, I am sure they start fading fast! I can’t imagine she will want to cuddle after the age of 5! That gives me at least 5 years to enjoy it…I hope.

      • Heather @ CrawdadsInMySink October 12, 2013 at 10:20 am #

        Who knows? I think some kids just always love cuddling with their mama! I do still try to sit on my moms lap even though she doesn’t enjoy it!! Haha

      • Nickie Brook October 15, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

        Haha, that’s too funny!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 31 days of getting it together | Crawdads in my Sink - October 11, 2013

    […] Day 12: Oh, boy! […]

Leave a Reply

