Hope Spoken link-up

23 Oct

Hey, everybody! Today’s post is a link-up with the other attendees of the Hope Spoken conference so that we can get to know each other a little online before we meet in March.

The leading ladies (Casey, Danielle and Emily) have provided some guidelines for our link-up posts and one of the things they asked for was a picture. Luckily I already had my mom’s good DSLR here because I was trying to take some fall pictures of Jack. But he is too crazy for photo shoots. So, I got Spencer to take a pic for me so that I could post a high quality and extremely recent one. It was pretty awkward but we did it.

Heeeeeeyy

Heeeeeeyy

As for an introduction, it all began on a beautiful day in April, 1984…Just kidding. I have no idea what the weather was like the day I was born. Anyway, I’m 29 years old and a homemaking mama to a fifteen-month-old crazy lunatic boy and wife to a tall, smart, compassionate man. I’ve lived in Oklahoma all my life except for that one summer when I did an internship in D.C. for a US Senator. That’s how I know the big city isn’t my speed. I graduated from Oklahoma State University with a degree in Agricultural communications (yes, we talk to cows) and a minor in political science and then I got to work as a lobbyist here in Oklahoma for a couple years before Jack was born. I’m pretty much a redneck and I try to embrace that without crossing over to white trash. I am passionate and adamant about the fact that God loves every person created in his image including the pre-born and therefore we should love them too. I don’t think loving people means agreeing with them so that they don’t get mad at you. Originality moves me. So does ice cream.

Now I’m supposed to say something I’m feeling timid or nervous about for the weekend of Hope Spoken. I have a few. The main thing I’m feeling nervous about is that I may not get to go! I already bought a ticket and everything but my husband may have a work trip come up at the same time in Florida and he invited me to go with him. So, I’m really hoping they don’t fall on the same weekend. I’m also a little worried about the money. I feel kind of nervous about spending money for the ticket and a hotel room when our savings account is overdrawn (it literally is).

Something I’m hoping to take away from the conference is inspiration. And new friendships. And maybe some swag. But mainly inspiration.

Now something fun/random about myself…hmmm…but I’m so normal…this is like when you have to say a special talent and you can’t think of one…

Edited to add: I forgot to add something fun/random about myself before I published! I hate being scared and so I stay far away from creepy movies and roller coasters. I’ve tried so many times to see the fun in it but it’s not for me! I’m a party pooper!

11 Responses to “Hope Spoken link-up”

  1. Heather Boersma (@HeatherBoersma) October 23, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    Hey girl. I feel the same way about saying something interesting about myself. But I bet if you even just told us one thing, it’d be interesting because we don’t know you. Like, do you drink a cup of french pressed coffee everyday? or love watching the food network? I find satisfaction in plucking your eyebrows? (and if you do, then we’re the same person!!!)

    • Heather @ CrawdadsInMySink October 23, 2013 at 9:49 am #

      OOPS! Haha I wrote this last night and was going to come back and add something before I published it but I forgot! I’ll edit it and put something; I don’t want to be a non-participater! Thanks for the encouragement, can’t wait to wet you!

  2. Amy Reed (@sweethomesb) October 23, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    Hope your husband’s trip gets scheduled a different weekend! Would love to meet you! 🙂

  3. Shannon Miller October 24, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

    Thank you so much for your sweet, encouraging comment on my blog! You are hilarious and adorable (and so is your baby boy). I am positive we would get along – can’t wait to meet you at Hope Spoken! 🙂

  4. sarah October 28, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

    Hope to get to meet you – so excited for you to get to come..praying it works out…and also praying that God would PROVIDE! because He is good like that and does not want you to be stressin about the money! 🙂 ALSO…I am in Oklahoma too! (Norman)…maybe we can connect before hand somehow!? glad to find you here!!

    • Heather @ CrawdadsInMySink October 28, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

      Ah! How exciting! Thanks so much for the sweet words! I would love to connect before March. Feel free to email me at heather(at)okgov(dot)us

  5. Rhiannon October 29, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    Fellow Okie here -Tulsa area 🙂 Hope you are able to come – if you’re close, maybe we could carpool!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 31 days of getting it together | Crawdads in my Sink - October 26, 2013

    […] Day 23: Hope Spoken link up […]

Leave a Reply

